Felony DWI

What Qualifies As A Felony DWI?

In Texas, a charge of felony DWI occurs in one of three ways:

  • A driver has a child passenger who is under 14 years old when stopped for driving while intoxicated
  • A driver has been convicted with two prior DWI charges, and this arrest could lead to a third DWI charge
  • The driver causes another person serious bodily injury or a fatality while driving intoxicated

The penalties are harsh. Attorney Hall considers those as seriously as you do. Call him immediately if you or a loved one has been charged with felony DWI at 972-587-7506.

Located in Garland, you may also contact The Law Office of Justin K. Hall, P.C., by completing the online form.

What Are The Penalties In Texas For A Felony DWI?

If you had a child as a passenger in your car when you were stopped for a DWI, and are convicted of the charge, the state penalties include:

  • Serving time in prison from 180 days to up to two years
  • Paying up to a $10,000 fine

If you were driving while intoxicated and caused a car collision resulting in someone dying or suffering serious physical injuries, you may be charged with intoxication assault which is a third degree felony in Texas.

The penalties for this type of conviction are:

  • Serving from two to 10 years in jail
  • A $10,000 fine
  • Community service from ranging from 160 hours to over 600 hours

An experienced lawyer, such as Justin K. Hall, can help you get your life back on the right track.

Providing Aggressive And Proactive Legal Advocacy

Justin Hall has the knowledge and compassion to understand life's big picture. He works on your behalf to negotiate with the court for alcohol assessment and alcohol treatment programs as leverage in your favor before the prosecution.

He helps you by addressing the charges against you and takes your case head on.

Serving the counties of Rockwall, Dallas and Collin, The Law Office of Justin K. Hall, P.C., can be reached online or by calling 972-587-7506.